Skip navigation

I had the honor of getting to know Jerry in recent years. He was a warm, funny and extremely generous man, a great comic artist and creator and an unflagging advocate for comic artist’s rights. He also recognized early on that comic art was just that and collected many pages beginning in the early 1940s that would have otherwise been destroyed, resulting in his touring museum show.

I first discovered Jerry when I was a kid. My dad used to bring home “The New York Daily News” everyday from work and I was an avid reader of all the comic strips and that included Jerry’s “Still Life” and “Life With Robinson’ strips. Unknown to me I was also reading the adventures of two other of his creations at the same time, “The Joker” and “Robin, The Boy Wonder.”

For me a personal highlight was his singing Woody’s “Union Maid” to me at his kitchen table.

Heartfelt condolences to his family.

Like many others, I am really going to miss him.

Great interview between Jerry and Gary Groth here:

http://www.tcj.com/jerry-robinson-been-there-done-that/

Peter Meskin with Jerry, Oct 21, 2004 in Atlanta at Jerry’s exhibit ZAP! POW! BAM! The Superhero: The Golden Age of Comic Books 1938-1950,” at The Breman Museum.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

