Skip navigation

Summer’s over as far as I am concerned. The semester has begun and I’m busy with two book projects (more on that later). Recently I completed two design projects.

THE NATION

The first is the current issue of The Nation, which is out now. It is the September 21, 2009 edition and a “special issue” on the global politics of food. I hired illustrator (and singer songwriter) Tim Robinson to not only create the title out of food, but to do initials caps comprised of food to be scattered throughout. He also did five illustrations, which gives the issue a nice cohesiveness.

foodcover

http://www.thenation.com/

http://www.timrobinson.cc/

http://www.myspace.com/timrobinsonsongs

TWO-HANDERS

I also designed the publicity materials for my friend Martin Fox’s play Two-Handers which was part of The Midtown International Theatre Festival in NYC. My daughter Janna did the illustration. Marty was my editor at Print, and the Editor-in-Chief there for about 40 years. He is responsible, along with art director Andrew Kner, for turning Print from a small printing and design magazine in the early 1960s into a major voice in the design world. The play is excellent as well.

Two-HandersforSBweb

http://www.comicspace.com/janna_brower_flapper_comics/

One Comment

  1. Hollllla Steve!
    Mucho long time but really glad to re-connect. Its so true what you’ve written about PRINT/ It was always the Standard of the ad design biz. In fact, when I was at the then called NY City Community College from 1969-’71, one of the design assignments was to design a Cover for Print Magazine as part of their student promotional contests where the winner’s cover design would be a future PRINT Cover. I still have my original in my “archive” portfolio. A little Back & white Surrealist endeavor showing an upright tube of artist’s oils being pierced by an oversized ballet-like posed hand and fingers with a sewing needle and thread. I feel your lamentations which is just one reason I (had to) finally got out of the ad biz before I lost my sense of humor and the moronic and silly classified “job” description you’ve just described. I had a decent run as an Art/Creative Director of me and Eileen’s own “Boutique” agency in Phx. 24 years was enough, but it’s in the family blood as I still buy the Fashion Mags and look at the CA and Graphis issues. By the way, love your design on the Woody Guthrie drawings. A wonderful book I just happened upon last year. Good stuff, my friend. All the best! Don’t lament too hard as all is in a sad state. Imagine what uncle Milton must think! Pushpin? Think any design student would know The Studio, much less what a pushpin actually is (?). -Alan


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

